ATLANTA (March 3, 2022) – Golf fans can catch every Mitsubishi Electric Classic winner to date when Georgia’s only PGA TOUR Champions event returns to TPC Sugarloaf May 2-8.

The previous victors will be joined by 70 other PGA TOUR Champions pros who are vying for the $1.8 million prize purse and to increase their standing in the season-long Charles Schwab Cup points list.

“Whether it was Dicky Pride who won last year by three strokes after open qualifying or Steve Flesch’s two-hole playoff victory in ‘18, the tournament always proves to be one of the most exciting events on the tour,” says Ashley Hamilton, tournament director. “And this year promises to be as thrilling as ever – our previous winners alone have a combined 74 PGA TOUR Champions victories. We’re looking forward to welcoming back our previous champions as well as the remainder of the  field this spring.”

The past champions include:

  • Dicky Pride, who earned his first win on PGA TOUR Champions at the 2021 Mitsubishi Electric Classic. After opening with 71, he shot back-to-back 67s on the weekend to post 11-under and win by three strokes over Stephen Ames, Kirk Triplett and Paul Goydos. With his win, he became the 14th open qualifier to win on the PGA TOUR Champions and the 18th player with wins on the PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions and Korn Ferry Tour.
  • Scott McCarron, who earned a two-shot, wire-to-wire victory at the 2019 tournament. The win marked McCarron’s third victory at TPC Sugarloaf, with the other two at the PGA TOUR’s BellSouth Classic in 1997 and 2001. McCarron currently has 11 PGA TOUR Champions victories.
  • Steve Flesch, who earned his first PGA TOUR Champions title in a two-hole playoff victory over Bernhard Langer and Scott Parel at the 2018 Mitsubishi Electric Classic. With this win, he became only the 14th player with wins on the PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions and Korn Ferry Tour.
  • Stephen Ames, who, on his way to victory in 2017, set a tournament 54-hole scoring record with his 15-under-par 201. Ames is the 11th player to win on the PGA TOUR, PGA TOUR Champions and Korn Ferry Tour. Ames has two PGA TOUR Champions wins.
  • Woody Austin, who became the first multiple winner of the 2016 season when he defeated Wes Short, Jr., in a two-hole playoff. Austin currently has four PGA TOUR Champions victories.
  • Olin Browne, who has two PGA TOUR Champions wins since joining in 2009. Browne drained a six-foot birdie putt on the 18th hole in a weather-shortened Saturday finish to win the 2015 tournament.
  • Miguel Ángel Jiménez, who became the 18th PGA TOUR Champions player to win in his debut event in 2014. Earlier this year, Jiménez won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai. He currently has 11 PGA TOUR Champions victories.
  • Bernhard Langer, who has played in every Mitsubishi Electric Classic since its inception. Langer claimed his 18th career PGA TOUR Champions title at the inaugural tournament in 2013. The two-time Masters champion also earned the 2020-21 Jack Nicklaus Award as the PGA TOUR Champions Player of the Year after claiming his historic sixth Charles Schwab Cup.

 The full field of competitors will be released in the coming weeks.

 To purchase tickets, please visit:

 For more information, visit:


About Mitsubishi Electric Classic

The Mitsubishi Electric Classic returns to the metro Atlanta area May 2 – 8, 2022, and looks forward to welcoming Players on PGA TOUR Champions such as Miguel Ángel Jiménez, Ernie Els, Bernhard Langer, John Daly, Vijay Singh, Mike Weir and Jim Furyk. The Mitsubishi Electric Classic proudly stands as a premier golf tournament on the PGA TOUR Champions, but this event is much more than a golf tournament.  The event, which will benefit local charities through the Gwinnett Championship Foundation Inc., has raised over $3 million since the first tournament in 2013.  Follow the Mitsubishi Electric Classic online at, on, on Twitter @MEClassicGolf and on Instagram @mitsubishielectricclassic.

About PGA TOUR Champions

PGA TOUR Champions is a membership organization of professional golfers age 50 and older, including 34 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame. The Tour’s mission is to provide financial opportunities for its players, entertain and inspire its fans, deliver substantial value to its partners, create outlets for volunteers to give back and generate significant charitable and economic impact in tournament communities. Follow PGA TOUR Champions online at, at, on Twitter @ChampionsTour, on Instagram @pgatourchampions and on TikTok (pgatourchampions)

All events are televised in the United States, with most receiving complete coverage on GOLF Channel, the exclusive cable-television partner of PGA TOUR Champions. Tournament programming is available via 25-plus TV linear partners in 180-plus countries and territories, with 25 channels carrying long-form and/or highlights coverage, and 200-plus hours of live coverage distributed in 135-plus countries and territories. Programming is also available via the OTT platform GOLFTV powered by PGA TOUR in every market outside of the United States, excluding China and Korea, with live coverage distributed in 130-plus countries and territories.


Media Contact:
Hank Sforzini